Kathryn Joosten, Primetime Emmy-Winning Actress and Television Academy Governor

Kathryn Joosten, a two-time Primetime Emmy-winning actress and a longtime governor of the Television Academy's Performers Peer Group, died June 1, 2012, in Los Angeles.
Joosten, who was 72, had been diagnosed with lung cancer in 2009.

Although she was a familiar face in films and on television for more than a decade, Joosten did not pursue a professional acting career until age 42 — and arrived in Hollywood just 15 years ago.

Television Academy COO Alan Perris Receives Multi-Year Contract Extension

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences has announced that chief operating officer Alan Perris has renewed his contract through 2013. During this multi-year deal, Perris will continue to oversee the day-to-day activities of the Academy and its Foundation, as well as supervise the staff, including the executives in charge of all key departments.

Full details are available here.

ReelzChannel 2011 Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards Partner for Telecast

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced today that ReelzChannel will broadcast the 2011 Primetime Creative Arts Emmy® Awards which will once again be produced by Spike Jones, Jr.  The announcement was made by Television Academy Chairman and CEO John Shaffner.  The awards will be taped on Saturday, September 10th and air on Saturday, September 17th at 8:00 PM ET and at 8:00 PM PT.  While this marks the 17th year that Jones, Jr. has produced the awards, it is the first time ReelzChannel has broadcast the ceremony. 

Television Academy Renews Eight-Year Primetime Emmy Deal with Broadcast Nets

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences and representatives from ABC, CBS, FOX and NBC announced this evening that the Television Academy’s contract with the four broadcast networks to televise the Primetime Emmy® Awards has been extended through 2018. The Primetime Emmy® Awards will continue a “wheel rotation” with each of the four broadcast networks, beginning with FOX for the 2011 telecast and continuing with ABC, CBS and NBC, respectively.

Janet MacLachlan, Emmy-Winning Actress and Former Academy Governor, Passes at 77

Janet MacLachlan, an actress whose career spanned several decades and included such highlights as a key supporting role in the 1972 film Sounder and guest appearances on such television series as Archie Bunker’s Place and Cagney and Lacey, died October 11, 2010, at Kaiser Permanente Medical Center in Los Angeles.

According to news reports, MacLachlan had been hospitalized after suffering a cardiovascular incident at her home in Silver Lake.

Original Hawaii Five-O Star James MacArthur Dies at 72

Actor James MacArthur, best known for the role of detective Danny “Danno” Williams on the original Hawaii Five-0, died October 28, 2010, at age 72.

According to news reports, MacArthur died in Florida of natural causes.

In a career that spanned from the mid-1950s through the late 1990s, MacArthur appeared on the stage and in feature films in addition to his television work. But he will always be best remembered for Hawaii Five-0, which aired on CBS from 1968 to 1980.

Emmy-Winning Director Lamont Johnson Dies at 88

Lamont Johnson, an Primetime Emmy-winning director known for his graceful handling of television movies and miniseries that frequently dealt with sensitive or controversial subject matter, died on October 25, 2010, at his home in Monterey, California. He was 88.

According to news reports, the cause was congestive heart failure.

Johnson, who worked in theater and feature films as well as television, earned 11 Primetime Emmys nominations and won two — in 1985, for the miniseries Wallenberg: A Hero’s Story, and in 1988, for the miniseries Lincoln.

Animator Alex Anderson, Creator of Rocky and Bullwinkle, Passes

Alexander Anderson, Jr., an animator who created the beloved cartoon characters Rocky and Bullwinkle, died October 22, 2010, in Carmel, California. He was 90.

According to news reports, the cause was complications related to Alzheimer’s Disease.

Anderson was born September 5, 1920, in Berkeley, California. His family was steeped in the animation world. Two uncles were cartoonists, including Paul Terry, who is credited with developing the character of Mighty Mouse. In 1938, Anderson joined Terry’s animation studio, Terrytoons, in New Rochelle, N.Y.

Browser Requirements
The TelevisionAcademy.com sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window